Artists in Residence

Collaborating with quartier21 (MuseumsQuartier), we invite one to two artists each year to exhibit and work in Vienna for a couple of months.

The Artist-in-Residence program at quartier21 fosters international, project-related exchange and is financed with the aid of private sponsors. Each year, the program is able to invite about 40 artists from other countries to realize joint projects with the resident cultural initiatives on location, consequently promoting the establishment of international networks.

This year’s artists in residence are the French multi media duo Mihai Grecu and Thibault Gleize, who caused quite a stir with their works in previous years at VIS, their video "Exland" winning an award in 2013. This year the festival welcomes them as their guests with exhibitions at the MuseumsQuartier and three festival trailers.

Mihai Grecu (RO/FR)

His films were screened at festivals from Rotterdam to Tampere, from Sao Paulo to Sapporo. He won awards at ZKM in Karlsruhe, at Europe’s biggest short film festival in Clermont-Ferrand and most recently also at VIS in Vienna. Mihai Grecu, who was born in Romania and works in France, is a graduate of the renowned art academy Le Fresnoy and over the last years has built a reputation as a visionary, radical artist alternating between design and genre films, often in collaboration with Thibault Gleize. His surreal animations display this media artist’s distinct handwriting.

In Vienna, Grecu will work together with Gleize on a new video (Strange Attractor) and will guest at ASIFAkeil in the MuseumsQuartier for a month from 9 May with burning petroleum and a loop-universe of water, smoke and fire. Furthermore he and Gleize created three trailers for VIS 2014.

Thibault Gleize (FR)

Thibault Gleize startet out as a graffiti artist in the late 90’s in Southern France, before turning his hand to more to graphic and illustrative works and unusual videos and animations. Over the years he developed a cabinet of curiosities of mutating monsters and grotesque characters with the aid of a magic lantern that projects terrifying images onto the wall. Together with Mihai Grecu he is part of amultimedia duo in Paris that expresses itself in videos, installations, graphic design, photography and drawings, often producing alienated places and hallucinatory spaces.

The ESAD graduate will work with Grecu on a new video (Strange Attractor). Furthermore they created three trailers for VIS 2014.

Artists in Residence

Gemeinsam mit dem quartier21 des MuseumsQuartiers werden jährlich ein bis zwei KünstlerInnen für zwei Monate eingeladen, in Wien auszustellen und zu arbeiten. Seit 2003 stehen im quartier21/MQ acht Künstlerstudios für internationale KünstlerInnen bzw. Kulturschaffende und KuratorInnen zur Verfügung, die ihren Wohnsitz nicht in Österreich haben. Diese Studios werden in erster Linie projektgebunden an die Kulturanbieter des quartier21/MQ gekoppelt.

Ziel des Programmes ist es, vor allem durch die aktive und kontinuierliche Einbeziehung von internationalen Kunst- und Kulturschaffenden die Rolle des MuseumsQuartier Wien als einen der weltgrößten zeitgenössischen Kulturkomplexe mittel- und langfristig auszubauen und den internationalen Kulturaustausch zu fördern.

Als Artists in Residence begrüßen wir in diesem Jahr das französische Multimedia-Duo Mihai Grecu und Thibault Gleize, das in den vergangenen Jahren mehrfach mit seiner Arbeit bei VIS für Aufsehen gesorgt hat und für das Video "Exland" 2013 auch ausgezeichnet wurde. Heuer sind beide mit Ausstellungen im MuseumsQuartier sowie mit ihren drei Festivaltrailern zu Gast.

Mihai Grecu (RO/FR)

Seine Filme liefen bei Festivals von Rotterdam bis Tampere, von Sao Paulo bis Sapporo. Preise erhielt er u.a. im ZKM in Karlsruhe, bei Europas größtem Kurzfilmfestival in Clermont-Ferrand und zuletzt auch bei VIS in Wien. Der in Rumänien geborene und in Frankreich arbeitende Mihai Grecu, Absolvent der renommierten Kunstakademie Le Fresnoy, hat sich in den vergangenen Jahren – immer wieder in Zusammenarbeit mit Thibault Gleize – den Ruf eines visionären, radikalen, zwischen Design und Genre-Film changierenden und in seinen surrealen Animationen eine unverkennbare Handschrift aufweisenden Medienkünstlers erworben.

In Wien wird Grecu gemeinsam mit Gleize an einer neuen Videoarbeit (Strange Attractor) arbeiten und ab 9. Mai für einen Monat mit brennendem Erdöl und einem Loop-Universum aus Wasser, Rauch und Feuer im ASIFAkeil im MuseumsQuartier gastieren. Zudem gestalteten er und Gleize drei Trailer für VIS 2014.

Thibault Gleize (FR)

Thibault Gleize startet als Graffiti-Künstler Ende der 90er Jahre in Südfrankreich, bevor er sich vermehrt seinen grafischen und illustrativen Werken zuwendet und an ungewöhnlichen Videos und Animationen zu arbeiten beginnt. Mit einer magischen Laterne, die Furcht erregende Bilder an die Wand wirft, entwickelt er über Jahre hinweg ein Kuriositätenkabinett aus mutierenden Monstern und grotesken Charakteren. Gemeinsam mit Mihai Grecu bildet er heute in Paris ein Multimedia-Duo, das sich in Videos, Installationen, Grafik-Design, Fotografie und Zeichnungen ausdrückt und vielfach entfremdete Orte und halluzinatorische Räume produziert.

In Wien wird der ESAD-Absolvent gemeinsam mit Grecu an einer neuen Videoarbeit (Strange Attractor) arbeiten. Zudem gestalteten sie drei Trailer für VIS 2014.