Fiction & Documentary

Carmen Gray

Film editor/critic

Born in New Zealand and based in London, Carmen Gray is the Film Editor of Dazed & Confused magazine and a freelance critic and journalist for publications including Sight & Sound, The Guardian, Screen International and Estonian culture weekly Sirp. She is also film programmer for education charity Into Film.

Matt Porterfield

Writer/Director/Producer

Matt Porterfield has written and directed three feature films in Baltimore, Maryland: Hamilton (2006), Putty Hill (2011) and I Used To Be Darker (2013). In 2012, Matt was a featured artist in the Whitney Biennial, a Creative Capital grantee, and the recipient of a Wexner Center Artists Residency. His work is in the permanent collection of MoMA and the Harvard Film Archive and has screened at film festivals such as Sundance, Berlinale, Viennale, and SXSW. Currently, Matt is actively in development of SOLLERS POINT, a new screenplay selected for the Berlinale’s Co-Production Market and Rotterdam’s CineMart.

Amina Handke

Artist

Amina Handke works as a freelance artist, curator with a focus on video art, avant-garde and documentaries for the weekly TV programme Oktoskop and as a lecturer at the Institute for Media Theory at the University for Applied Arts in Vienna. She has been active for many years in the most diverse roles in theatre, film, music, television and other media.

Animation Avantgarde

Mariola Brillowska

Author/Performer/Director

Mariola Brillowska, born in 1961 in Sopot/Gdansk, studied at the Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg from 1984 to 1991. Since 1988 she has produced animations, anarchist performances and theatre shows. Her film Grabowski, Haus des Lebens received the Grand Prix at the Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen 1991. From 2005 to 2013 she was professor for drawing and illustration at the Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach/Main. She has taken part at numerous international exhibitions and festivals, retrospectives of her works and films are shown regularly, most recently in NY, Warsaw and Beijing.

Mihai Grecu

Artist/Director

Mihai Grecu was born in Romania in 1981. After studying art and design in Romania and France, he has been pursuing his artistic research at the Fresnoy Studio of Contemporary Arts in France. Recurring topics such as environment, water, city life and war articulate the whole of his exploration of mysterious and subconscious beginnings. These visual and poetic trips mix several techniques and styles and may be seen as propositions for a new dream oriented technology. His work has been shown in numerous film festivals (e.g. Locarno, Rotterdam, Festival of New Cinema in Montreal) and contemporary art exhibitions.

Martin Reinhart

Filmmaker/Film technician

Born in Vienna in 1967. Numerous projects in film technology and multimedia since 1999. He has worked as a film technician in Munich and Hollywood and has had his own film technological workshop since 1998. 2009 founder of Indiecam GmbH. 2001 to 2004 he was curator for photography and film at the Museum of Technology in Vienna. 2004 and 2010 he was project manage for the “WestLicht Photographic Auction”. He is the recipient of numerous grants and has taken part at numerous festivals at home and abroad (Ars Electronica, Diagonale, Viper, DEAF, ZKM, etc.). Currently he is the CEO for Blank Mind Produtions GmbH.

National competition

Nicolas Mahler

Illustrator

Nicolas Mahler, born in 1969, no education. Lives and works in Vienna as a comic illustrator. Illustrates for ZEIT, FAZ, NZZ am Sonntag and the satirical magazine Titanic, among others. Additionally, Nicolas Mahler has published numerous books. In recent years a series of illustrated literary adaptations came into being (of works by Thomas Bernhard, Robert Musil, H.C. Artmann et al). Between 2002 and 2009 he also produced five short animations.
www.mahlermuseum.at

Anna Veilande Kustikova

Film programmer/project manager/film curator

Anna Veilande Kustikova studied Art at the Academy of Latvia (BA, MA in Art history and theory) and at the Estonian Academy of Arts (MA Animation). Starting from 2006 she was working as an independent curator. Since 2010 she focuses on moving images and animation, which is also the main topic of her research, international publications and lectures which Anna has been giving since 2012. Meanwhile working as an expert and curator for Video Art Archive of Latvia in 2011, Anna has started to curate short film programmes and since 2013 she is the Programme Director of Riga International Film Festival 2ANNAS.

Jan Soldat

Filmmaker

While still a student at the Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen “Konrad Wolf“ in Potsdam-Babelsberg, Jan Soldat competed in both the Berlinale Shorts and VIS with his short documentary Geliebt. In 2012 he returned to the Berlinale: Crazy Dennis Tiger in the youth film competition and Zucht und Ordnung in the Panorama. His graduation film Der Unfertige (2013) was recently awarded the Cinemaxxi Award Best Short Film in Rome and nominated for the short film prize of the Deutsche Filmkritik. Two years ago he created the VIS trailer.

Youth jury

Franziska Wolff, Kevin Klammer, Fiona Grasberger, Lena Lindinger, Valentina Königswieser, Michael Loibl, Stephan Mantuano (Bundesgymnasium Wien 19 & Handelsakademie I)

Music video competition

Jonas Vogt

Chief editor Noisey Alps

Music journalist. Doesn’t think much of passion, but all the more of conviction. Having grown up along the thoroughfare between Cologne and Bonn, he moved to Vienna seven years ago and got stuck. He worked for The Gap many years and is currently building up VICE music channel Noisey Alps in Austria and Switzerland. Jonas Vogt feels music is a product of its culture and time. He also enjoys “thinking” music visually.

Violetta Parisini

Musician

Violetta Parisini, born in Vienna in 1980, has spent many nights as a DJ and singer in clubs and festivals at home and abroad since the early days of her now completed studies in Philosophy and Theatre, Film and Media; writing lyrics, condensing them, composing songs; cooperating with producers from various musical backgrounds composing, writing and producing songs and tracks. In addition, she has also published two solo albums and has given numerous concerts with great musicians or as a soloist at the piano. Currently she is working on the team of curators for Popfest Wien and is also writing new songs.

Daniel Moshel

Author/Director/Producer

Born in Offenbach am Main in 1976. Daniel Moshel’s debut documentary Login 2 Life was coproduced in 2011 with ZDF. The film was shown on ZDF and ORF and sold to numerous TV channels worldwide after a successful run at various festivals. A year after its release, his first MuVi MeTube has received a million YouTube views, more than 80 invitations to festivals (including the Sundance Film Festival), TV screenings and over a dozen awards (among others the Österreichischer Musikvideopreis). 2014 the four-part ZDF documentary House of Love will be aired, for which he was one of four directors.

Night of the Light

Maria Hofstätter

Actress

Maria Hofsta?tter has been working as an actress since 1983 and is head of the projekttheater Vorarlberg since 1995. Her first appearance on big screen was in Indien, she worked with Ulrich Seidl in Dog Days and Import Export. Hofsta?tter received the Diagonale acting award for her great service to the austrian film culture in 2013 and the Austrian Film Award as best actress (Paradise: Faith) in 2014.

Ursula Wolschlager

Producer/dramatic advisor

Ursula Wolschlager is a producer, author and the CEO for film production firm Witcraft Szenario OG (Die Vaterlosen, Gangster Girls). She has been working in the film industry since 1995 (e.g. Luna Papa and Die Kronenzeitung – Tag für Tag ein Boulevardstück), received the Carl-Mayer advancement award for screen writing, from 2004 to 2007 she worked for Lotus-Film (e.g. Slumming, Contact High, Die Frauenkarawane).

Alexandra Zawia

Film critic

Alexandra Zawia is an editor and film critic. She completed her studies in literature, linguistics, cultural studies & film theory and has since worked for various magazines and daily papers, e.g. Wiener Zeitung, Furche, ray, Ípsilon, The Hollywood Reporter, Festivalists. She is a member of FIPRESCI – The International Federation of Film Critics.

Claus Tieber

Film scholar

Claus Tieber, born in 1966, research assistant and project manager at the University of Salzburg. Studies in theatre, philosophy, political science and journalism and media at the University of Vienna. Habilitation in 2008. Various research stays and lectureships. His monography Stummfilmdramaturgie. Erzählweisen des amerikanischen Feature Films 1917 – 1927 was published in 2011.

Robert Grüneis

General Manager of Wien Energie GmbH

Robert Grüneis began his career at Wiener Stadtwerke Group as a lawyer in the legal department of Wiener Linien (Vienna Public Transport). He assisted during the spin off of Wiener Stadtwerke from its municipal department. In 2001 Grüneis was involved in the establishment of EnergieAllianz Austria GmbH and Wien Energie GmbH. Since 2008 he has been General Manager of Wien Energie.

Fiction & Documentary

Carmen Gray

Filmjournalistin/-kritikerin

Geboren in Neuseeland, wohnhaft in London. Carmen Gray ist Film Editor vom Magazin Dazed & Confused und freiberufliche Kritikerin und Journalistin für Publikationen wie Sight & Sound, The Guardian, Screen International und das wöchentliche estnische Sirp. Des Weiteren ist sie Film Programmer bei Into Film.

Matt Porterfield

Autor/Regisseur/Produzent

Matt Porterfield schrieb und führte Regie bei drei Langspielfilmen in Baltimore, Maryland: Hamilton (2006), Putty Hill (2011) und I Used To Be Darker (2013). 2012 war Matt einer der ausgestellten Künstler im Whitney Biennal, Stipendienempfänger von Creative Capital und Empfänger einer Wexner Center Artists Residency. Seine Arbeiten sind in der dauerhaften Sammlung von MoMA und dem Harvard Film Archiv und wurden auf Festivals wie Sundance, Berlinale, Viennale und SXSW gezeigt. Matt arbeitet derzeit an seinem neuen Drehbuch zu Sollers Point, das für die Berlinale Co-Produktion Market und Rottderdams CineMart ausgewählt wurde.

Amina Handke

Künstlerin

Amina Handke arbeitet als freischaffende Künstlerin, als Kuratorin mit Schwerpunkt Videokunst, Avantgarde- und Dokumentarfilm für das wöchentliche TV-Format Oktoskop und als Universitätslektorin am Institut für Medientheorie der Universität für Angewandte Kunst Wien. Seit vielen Jahren ist sie in unterschiedlichen Funktionen in künstlerischen Bereichen bei Theater, Film, Musik, Fernsehen und anderen Medien tätig.

Animation Avantgarde

Mariola Brillowska

Autorin, Performerin, Regisseurin

Mariola Brillowska, geboren 1961 in Sopot/Danzig, studierte von 1984 bis 1991 an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Hamburg. Seit 1988 produziert sie in eigener Regie Animationsfilme, anarchistische Performances und Theatershows. Ihr Film Grabowski, Haus des Lebens erhielt bei den Kurzfilmtagen Oberhausen 1991 den Grand Prix. Von 2005 bis 2013 war sie Professorin für Zeichnen und Illustration an der Hochschule für Gestaltung Offenbach/Main. Teilnahmen an zahlreichen internationalen Ausstellungen und Festivals sowie Retrospektiven ihrer Werke und Filmwerkschauen finden fortgehend statt, u.a. in NY, Warschau, Peking.

Mihai Grecu

Artist/Director

Geboren in Rumänien 1981. Nach dem Kunst- und Designstudium in Rumänien und Frankreich, hat er seine künstlerischen Tätigkeiten am Fresnoy Studio of Contemporary Art in Frankreich weiter verfolgt. Immer wiederkehrende Themen wie Umwelt, Wasser, Stadtleben und Krieg drücken seine Beobachtungen von mysteriösen und unterbewussten Anfängen aus. Diese visuellen und poetischen Reisen vermischen diverse Techniken und Styles und können als Prämisse einer neuen, traumorientierten Technologie gesehen werden. Seine Arbeit wurde auf zahlreichen Filmfestivals (u.a. Locarno, Rotterdam, Montreal) und zeitgenössischen Kunstausstellungen gezeigt.

Martin Reinhart

Filmemacher/Filmtechniker

Geboren 1967 in Wien. Seit 1999 zahlreiche Projekte im Bereich Filmtechnik und Multimedia. Arbeit als Filmtechniker in München und Hollywood, filmtechnische Werkstatt seit 1998. 2009 Gründung der Indiecam GmbH. 2001 bis 2004 Kurator für Fotografie und Film im Technischen Museum Wien. 2004 und 2010 Aufbau und Leitung der 'WestLicht Photographic Auction'. Diverse Förderungen und Ankäufe sowie Teilnahme an diversen Festivals im In- und Ausland (Ars Electronica, Diagonale, Viper, DEAF, ZKM, etc). Aktuell CEO der Blank Mind Productions GmbH.

Österreich Wettbewerb

Nicolas Mahler

Zeichner

Nicolas Mahler, geboren 1969, keine Ausbildung. Lebt als Comiczeichner in Wien. Zeichnet u.a. für die ZEIT, FAZ, NZZ am Sonntag und das Satiremagazin Titanic. Nicolas Mahler machte  zudem zahlreiche Buchveröffentlichungen. In den letzten Jahren entstand eine Reihe von gezeichneten Literaturadaptionen (u.a. nach Thomas Bernhard, Robert Musil, H.C. Artmann). Zwischen 2002 und 2009 war er außerdem für 5 Kurztrickfilme verantwortlich.
www.mahlermuseum.at

Anna Veilande Kustikova

Programmleitung, Kuratorin, Projektmanagement

Anna Veilande Kustikova studierte Kunst an der Akadamie von Lettland (BA, MA in Kunstgeschichte und -theorie) und an der Estnischen Kunstakademie (MA Animation). Sie arbeitet seit 2006 als freiberufliche Kuratorin. Seit 2010 konzentriert sie sich auf Bewegtbilder und Animation, welche auch das Kernthema ihrer Forschungen, internationalen Publikationen und Vorträge sind, die sie seit 2012 hält. Während ihrer Arbeit als Expertin für das Video Art Archive von Lettland 2011, hat Anna angefangen Kurzfilmprogramme zu kuratieren, seit 2013 ist sie Programmleiterin des Riga International Film Festival 2ANNAS.

Jan Soldat

Regisseur/Filmemacher

Noch während seines Studiums an der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen „Konrad Wolf" in Potsdam-Babelsberg war Jan Soldat mit seiner Kurzdoku Geliebt im Wettbewerb der Berlinale Shorts sowie im Wettbewerb von VIS. 2012 kehrte er mit gleich zwei Kurzfilmen zur Berlinale zurück: Crazy Dennis Tiger im Jugendfilmwettbewerb und Zucht und Ordnung im Panorama. Für seinen Diplomfilm Der Unfertige (2013) wurde er jüngst mit dem Cinemaxxi Award Best Short Film in Rom ausgezeichnet und für den Kurzfilmpreis der Deutschen Filmkritik nominiert. Vor zwei Jahren gestaltete er den Trailer für VIS.

Jugendjury

Franziska Wolff, Kevin Klammer, Fiona Grasberger, Lena Lindinger, Valentina Königswieser, Michael Loibl, Stephan Mantuano (Bundesgymnasium Wien 19 & Handelsakademie I)

Musikvideo Wettbewerb

Jonas Vogt

Chefredakteur Noisey Alps

Musikjournalist. Hält nicht viel von Leidenschaft, dafür umso mehr von Überzeugung. Aufgewachsen im Durchfahrtsland zwischen Köln und Bonn, ist er vor sieben Jahren nach Wien gezogen und hängengeblieben. Er hat lange Zeit bei The Gap gearbeitet und baut jetzt seit Anfang des Jahres den VICE Music Channel Noisey Alps in Österreich und der Schweiz auf. Jonas Vogt hält Musik für ein Produkt ihrer Kultur und Zeit. Er denkt sie auch gerne visuell.

Violetta Parisini

Musikerin

Violetta Parisini, 1980 in Wien geboren, hat seit den Anfängen ihres abgeschlossenen Philosophie- und Theater-Film & Medienwissenschaftsstudiums etliche Nächte als DJ und Sängerin in Clubs und auf Festivals im In- und Ausland verbracht; Texte gedichtet und verdichtet, Lieder geschrieben; mit Produzenten verschiedenster Musikstile Songs & Tracks komponiert, getextet, produziert. Sie hat zudem zwei Soloalben veröffentlicht, mit großartigen Musikern oder allein am Klavier unzählige Konzerte gespielt. Im Moment arbeitet sie im Kuratorenteam des Popfestes Wien und an neuen Liedern.

Daniel Moshel

Autor/Regisseur/Produzent

1976 in Offenbach am Main geboren. Daniels Moshels Doku-Debüt Login 2 Life wurde 2011 mit dem kleinen Fernsehspiel - ZDF koproduziert. Der Film wurde im ZDF und ORF ausgestrahlt und nach gelungener Festivallaufbahn weltweit mehrfach an TV-Sender verkauft. Sein erstes MuVi MeTube zählt ein Jahr nach Release eine Million YouTube-Views und über 80 Festivaleinladungen (inkl. Sundance Film Festival), TV-Screenings und über ein Dutzend Awards (u.a. den Österreichischen Musikvideopreis). 2014 wird das 4-teilige ZDF-Dokuformat House of Love ausgestrahlt, bei dem er einer von vier Regisseuren ist.

Night of the Light

Maria Hofstätter

Schauspielerin

Maria Hofstätter steht seit 1983 auf der Bühne, seit 1995 leitet sie das Projekttheater Vorarlberg. Im Kino war sie erstmals in Indien zu sehen, für Ulrich Seidl spielte sie u.a. in Hundstage und Import Export. Erhielt 2013 den Diagonale-Schauspielpreis für Verdienste um die Filmkultur und 2014 den Österreichischen Filmpreis als beste Schauspielerin in Paradies: Glaube.

Ursula Wolschlager

Produzentin/Dramaturgin

Ursula Wolschlager ist Produzentin, Autorin und CEO der Filmproduktion Witcraft Szenario OG (Die Vaterlosen, Gangster Girls). Sie arbeitet seit 1995 im Filmbereich (u.a. Luna Papaund Die Kronenzeitung – Tag für Tag ein Boulevardstück), 2002 erhielt sie den Carl-Mayer-Drehbuchförderpreis, 2004 bis 2007 war sie in der Lotus-Film tätig (u.a. Slumming, Contact High, Die Frauenkarawane).

Alexandra Zawia

Filmkritikerin

Alexandra Zawia ist Redakteurin und Filmkritikerin. Sie hat das Studium der Literatur, Linguistics, Cultural Studies & Film Theory abgeschlossen und arbeitet für verschiedene Magazine und Tageszeitungen, u.a. Wiener Zeitung, Furche, ray, Ípsilon, The Hollywood Reporter, Festivalists. Sie ist Mitglied von FIPRESCI – The International Federation of Film Critics.

Claus Tieber

Filmwissenschaftler

Claus Tieber, geboren 1966, Forschungsassistent und Projektleiter an der Universität Salzburg. Studium der Theaterwissenschaft, Philosophie, Politikwissenschaft und Publizistik an der Universität Wien. 2008 Habilitation. Diverse Forschungsaufenthalte und Lehraufträge. 2011 ist seine Monographie Stummfilmdramaturgie. Erzählweisen des amerikanischen Feature Films 1917 – 1927 erschienen.

Robert Grüneis

Geschäftsführer der Wien Energie GmbH

Robert Grüneis begann seine Laufbahn im Wiener Stadtwerke Konzern als Jurist in der Rechtsabteilung der Wiener Linien. Er begleitete die Ausgliederung der Stadtwerke aus dem Magistrat der Stadt Wien. 2001 war er an der Gründung der EnergieAllianz Austria GmbH und der Wien Energie GmbH beteiligt, seit 2008 ist er Geschäftsführer von Wien Energie.