Winner film 2013: "Impulse"

Night of the Light

Since 2012, VIS Vienna Independent Shorts and Wien Energie have been hosting the short film production competition Night of the Light. Each year, numerous Austrian filmmakers accept the challenge of coming up with 3-minute short films on a certain topic (2014, it is "high voltage"). Finally, fifteen treatments are chosen, five of which receive a 3,000 EUR production budget from Wien Energie for producing the films.

The finished works are presented at the Night of the Light on May 26th at Stadtkino im Künstlerhaus hosted by Austrian actor and comedian Michael Ostrowski, where two will be awarded prizes by a jury and the audience.

The annual event is held in German.

Night of the Light 2013

Jury prize: Impulse by Reinhold Bidner and Georg Hobmeier

Audience award: Joghurt mit Wachs, Gabriel Tempea

Night of the Light 2012

Jury prize: Einbruch der Nacht, Eva Chytilek

Audience award: Ein Fest der Kabel und Stecker, Willi Kubica